How to create and manage a personal account

In Shared Email Templates for Outlook

Shared Email Templates for Outlook is an account-based service, so, first of all, let's start the add-in and create your account. When you're registered and your email is confirmed, you'll be able to activate your subscription key and create templates and teams.

Start Shared Email Templates

In Outlook desktop

Start replying to an email message or composing a new one. Then click Shared Email Templates in the ribbon: Shared Email Templates

In Outlook Online

Start replying to an email message or composing a new one. Then click the three dots and select Shared Email Templates in the menu: Start Shared Email Templates.

In Outlook for Mac

  • In the New Outlook for Mac, start replying to an email message or composing a new one. Then click the three dots above the message and select Shared Email Templates in the dropdown list: Open the Shared Email Templates pane.

  • In the older version of Outlook for Mac, start replying to an email message or composing a new one, and then click Shared Email Templates in the ribbon:
    Click Shared Email Templates.

Create your account

The Shared Email Templates add-in offers two sign-up options:

  • Sign up with email
    Choose signing up with email to sign up for Shared Email Templates using any email account of yours, including an Outlook.com or Gmail account.
  • Sign up with Microsoft
    Choose signing up with Microsoft if you want to sign up with your Microsoft work or school account credentials.
Note. As soon as you create your account by signing up with email, switching to signing up with Microsoft won't be possible.

Sign up with email

  • Start Shared Email Templates in your Outlook and click Sign up on the add-in pane: Start creating your account.

  • Select the Sign up with email button: The Sign up with email button

  • Decide which account you need: a company account or a personal one. If you're going to create a company account, find our step-by-step instructions here. If you want to create a personal account, switch to the Personal tab: Choose Personal.

  • You'll see a registration form: This is a registration form.

  • Enter the required details, accept the Shared Email Templates Terms of use and Privacy policy, and click Sign up.
Note. If you're currently running Outlook under another email, a confirmation message will be sent to the email address you specified in the sign-up form so that you can verify that email address.

Sign up with Microsoft

Note. We will not have access to your Microsoft password.
Note. Free Microsoft accounts, such as Outlook.com and Hotmail accounts, are not supported.
  • Open the Shared Email Templates pane in your Outlook and click Sign up: Sign up for Shared Email Templates.

  • Select the Sign up with Microsoft button: The Sign up with Microsoft button

  • A Microsoft dialog window will show up. Sign in to your Microsoft work or school account to proceed. Then you'll be asked to accept the Shared Email Templates permissions:
    Permissions requested
  • As soon as the requested permissions are granted, you'll see a registration form. Check the First name and Last name fields. If you accept the Shared Email Templates Terms of use and Privacy policy, select the corresponding checkbox, and then click Sign up: A registration form

Your Shared Email Templates account is created.

Sign in to your account

Sign in with email

  • Select the Sign in with email button on the Shared Email Templates pane: The Sign in with email button

  • Then enter your username or email address and password. Click Sign in: Sign in to your account.

Sign in with Microsoft

Note. Select Sign in with Microsoft if you signed up for Shared Email Templates with your Microsoft work or school account.
  • Click the Sign in with Microsoft button on the add-in pane in your Outlook: The Sign in with Microsoft button

  • In the Microsoft dialog window that will show up, select your Microsoft work or school account that you want to sign in with.
  • Manage your profile

    To manage your profile, click the three dots in the lower-right corner of the add-in pane and select Profile:
    Open Profile.

    You'll see four sections: My Account, My License, My Properties, and My Teams.
    Manage your profile.

    My Account

    To edit your account, click the Edit Account icon:
    Here is the Edit Account icon.

    You can change your name, email, date of birth, and password. You can choose between two macros styles: Default and Dashed. You can also delete your account if you want to.
    Edit your account.

    To keep the changes you've made, click the Save Changes button.

    Note. Checking the Use single sign-on (SSO) where possible option in your profile enables the single sign-on feature (SSO). As a result, Shared Email Templates will require you to authenticate just once, and then you can insert images or attach files from OneDrive and SharePoint without repeated authentication checks.

    To learn more, visit these help pages:
    Inserting images from OneDrive and SharePoint: SSO
    Attaching files from OneDrive and SharePoint: SSO

    Note. If you signed up for Shared Email Templates with your Microsoft work or school account credentials, your profile doesn't contain password fields.

    My License

    The My License section contains information on the current subscription plan and its expiration date. Here you can activate and deactivate your subscription key.

    Note. If you have a company account, your subscription is managed by your company's administrator and you'll see neither the Enter Subscription Key button nor the Deactivate button in the My License section.

    If the automatic renewal of your subscription is enabled, there's a check mark next to Auto-renewal:
    Auto-renewal is on.

    When the subscription period is almost over, the Renew button appears, and you can click it to renew your subscription manually by placing a renewal order.
    Here is the Renew button.
    Or, if auto-renewal is on and the card that was used for the original order is still valid, you can wait until the subscription is renewed automatically.

    In both cases, you won't need to enter and activate the subscription key—it doesn't change. Only the expiration date gets extended.

    To turn auto-renewal off, clear the Auto-renewal checkbox. As soon as the automatic renewal of your subscription is canceled, a confirmation email from 2Checkout is to be delivered.

    Note. If you have a company account, the renewal of your subscription is the company administrator's responsibility and you won't see the Auto-renewal option and the Renew button in the My License section.

    My Properties

    To see the properties of your account or create new ones, click the Edit properties icon:
    Here is the Edit properties icon.

    To learn more about account and team properties, refer to the How to use team and profile properties manual.

    My Teams

    If you've already created or joined some teams, you'll see their list in the My Teams section. On the right of a team's name, your user permissions will be stated.
    My Teams

    Get your personal data

    You can make a request for the personal data associated with your profile (except for passwords) by going to Profile → My Account → Request my account data:
    Get personal data from your profile.

    As soon as you click Request my account data, an email message containing the requested information will be sent to the email address that is stated in your Shared Email Templates account. If the message is missing from your inbox, check your junk email.

    Delete your account

    If you want to delete your account, click the three dots in the lower-right corner of the add-in pane and select Profile:
    Open Profile.

    Then click the Edit Account icon:
    Here is the Edit Account icon.

    To delete your account, click Delete account and all my details at the bottom of the add-in pane:
    Delete the account.

    Note. If you've got a team where you're the only Admin, you won't be able to delete your account until you give the Admin permissions to another team member or close the team.
    Note. If there is no Delete account and all my details in Edit my account, it means that you have a company account which can be deleted only by a company administrator.