The tutorial provides the detailed guidance on how to retrieve email in Outlook after it has been sent, explains the key factors of recall success and describes a couple of alternatives.
A hasty click of the mouse can happen to the best of us. So, the Send button is hit, your email is on its way to the recipient, and you are cringing at the thought of what it may cost you. Before you start weighing the consequences and composing an apology notice, why not try to retrieve the erroneous message? Luckily, many email clients provide the ability to undo email messages after sending. Though this technique has a number of requirements and limitations, it does give you a good chance to timely correct your mistake and save face.
If you have accidentally sent an incomplete message, or forgot to attach a file, or sent an email to a wrong person, you can try to retrieve the message from the recipient's inbox before they read it. In Microsoft Outlook, this feature is called Recall email, and it can be done in two different ways:
When a message is successfully recalled, the recipients no longer see it in their inbox.
The ability to retrieve email is only available for Microsoft Exchange email accounts and Office 365 users. Outlook 2007, Outlook 2010, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2016, Outlook 2019 are supported.
Some other email clients provide a similar feature too, though it may be called differently. For example, Gmail has the Undo Send option. Unlike Microsoft Outlook, Google Gmail is not recalling a message, but rather delaying its sending within a very short time period. For more information, please see Undo email sending in Gmail.
To recall a message sent in error, here are the steps to perform:
Tip. To be notified about the result, make sure the Tell me if recall succeeds or fails for each recipient box is selected.
Tips and notes:
While the recall process is pretty simple and straightforward, there are a few conditions that must be met for this feature to work:
If these four requirements are fulfilled, there is a good chance that an embarrassing email will be saved from being read. In the nest section, you will find more information about the key reasons of a recall failure.
A successful start of the recall process does not mean it will always be completed as intended. There are a lot of factors that can complicate or even nullify it.
As already mentioned, the recall feature is only supported for Outlook 365 and Microsoft Exchange email accounts. But this fact alone does not guarantee that an email will be retracted. The following conditions are critical for a recall success:
The Recall feature is designed to work only on the Windows operating system and only for the Outlook client. If you are trying to retrieve an email sent to someone on a different email system such as Gmail or Thunderbird, it will not work. Also, a recall won't work for the web-based version of Outlook and Outlook for Mac.
Recalls are not supported for emails that are read on mobile devices with an email client such as Gmail or Apple Mail. And even if your recipient uses Exchange ActiveSync (EAS) settings for Outlook on a smartphone or tablet, a recall may fail because of various compatibility issues.
To be successfully retrieved, a message must stay in the Inbox folder of the recipient. If it was moved to another folder manually or was rerouted by an Outlook rule, sorting filter, VBA code or an add-in, the recall will fail.
A recall works only for unread messages. If the email has already been opened by the recipient, it won't be deleted from their Inbox automatically. Instead, the recipient may get a notification that you have requested to retract the original message.
Public folders make things complicated because multiple people can access the Inbox. So, if any person opens the email, the recall will fail and the original message will stay in the Inbox because it is now "read".
Whether a recall succeeds or fails is determined by an array of different factors. The outcomes of success and failure may also be different depending on Outlook settings.
Under the perfect circumstances, the recipient will never know that the message was received and deleted or replaced thereafter. In some situations, a recall notification will arrive.
On the sender side: If you selected the corresponding option, Outlook will notify you that your message has been successfully recalled:
On the recipient side: If the "Automatically process meeting requests and responses to meeting requests and polls" option is checked under File > Options > Mail > Tracking, the deletion or replacement of the original message would go unnoticed, aside from a couple of mail notifications in the system tray.
If the above option is not selected, the recipient will be informed that the sender wants to recall the message. If you are lucky and the recipient opens the recall notification before the original message, the latter will be automatically deleted or replaced with the new message. Otherwise, the original message will stay in the Inbox folder.
Regardless of the reasons because of which a recall failed, the results will be as follows.
On the sender side: If you selected the "Tell me if recall succeeds or fails for each recipient" option, you will be notified about the failure:
On the recipient side: For the most part, the recipient won't notice that the sender was trying to retrieve the message. In some situations, they may get a recall message, but the original email will stay intact.
You noticed a new mail notification in the system tray but do not see that email in your Inbox? Chances are that the sender has recalled it. However, since the message was stored in your mailbox for a little while, it did leave a trace, and it is possible to recover it. Here's how:
In Outlook 2016, Outlook 2019 and Office 365, you can also go to the Deleted Items folder and click the Recover items recently removed from this folder link at the top.
The selected message will be restored to either the Deleted Items folder or the Inbox folder. Because Outlook needs some time for synchronization, it may take a couple of minutes for the restored message to show up.
Note. Only the messages that are within the Retention Period set for your mailbox can be restored. The length of the period depends on your Exchange or Office 365 settings, the default is 14 days.
If you wish to be informed about the result, do a recall as usual and make sure the Tell me if recall succeeds or fails for each recipient box is checked (usually, this option is selected by default):
Outlook will send you a notification as soon as the recall message is processed by the recipient:
A tracking icon will also be added to your original message. Open the message you attempted to recall from the Sent items folder, click the Tracking button on the Message tab, and Outlook will show you the details:
When you get a recall notification like shown below, that means that the sender does not want you to read their original message and has attempted to retrieve it from your Inbox.
Most often, a recall message is received in one of the following situations:
Undo Send is now a default feature of Gmail. After sending a message, the Undo option will pop up automatically in the bottom left corner of your screen, and you will have about 30 seconds to make your decision before the option disappears:
Unlike Outlook's recall feature, Gmail’s Undo option does not pry out an email from the receiver's mailbox. What is actually does is delaying email sending like Outlook's defer delivery rule does. If you do not use Undo within 30 seconds, the message will be sent permanently to the recipient.
Since there are too many factors that impact the success of a message recall, one of the following workarounds may come in handy.
If you often send important information, a recall failure could be a costly mistake. To prevent this from happening, you can force Outlook to keep your emails in Outbox for a specified time interval before sending. This will give you time to grab an inappropriate message from your Outbox folder and correct a mistake. Two options are available to you:
For more information, please see How to delay email sending in Outlook.
Sending a quick apology note could be the simplest solution if the message you've mistakenly sent does not contain sensitive information and is not too abominable. Simply apologize and stop worrying about it. To err is human :)
That's how you recall sent email in Outlook. I thank you for reading and hope to see you on our blog next week!
Table of contents