Privacy, security, and data safety notes

Shared Email Templates for Outlook

Updated on November 24, 2022

The protection of your personal information is our priority. We want you to feel safe while using our Shared Email Templates for Outlook ("Shared Email Templates"). However, Shared Email Templates would not work if we didn't collect certain data. On this page, you can find detailed information on what data we collect, how we protect it, and where we store it.

What data we collect

Personal data

When you create an account, you enter your first and last name, username, email address, and password. We collect this information so that you can sign in to your account.

Templates

While creating a template, you enter its name, description, and contents. All this information is saved so that you can use your templates.

Note. When you attach files from any cloud storage to your templates, we do not save your credentials for these storages, such as OneDrive or any other.

Teams

We save the names of your teams, descriptions, members, their email addresses, and teammates permissions.

Cookies

We use cookies and/or similar technologies to operate the core functions of Shared Email Templates. You can find more information in Privacy Policy (https://www.ablebits.com/docs/outlook-shared-templates-privacy-policy/#annex-one).

Communications

When you contact our customer support service, we keep all your email and chat messages.

Required permissions

Your use of our products does not give us access to any sensitive personal data stored in your Microsoft account, such as physical address or credit card details.

Working with Shared Email Templates, you can see windows with the following permission requests:
Requested permissions

Permissions required for Mail Merge

View users' basic profile

We use this permission to read your name, email address, picture, and other properties of your personal Microsoft account or your Microsoft work or school account when inserting a template into the email message that is being created.

Read user mail

We use this permission to read the content of the email message that you are currently creating. We do not read other messages.

Edit or delete items in all site collections

We use this permission to upload template attachments to your SharePoint sites. We do not edit, delete, or read the content of your files.

Read user and shared mail

We use this permission to read the content of the email message you are currently creating in your personal or shared mailbox. We do not read other messages.

Sign in and read user profile

We use this permission to read your name, email address, picture, and other properties of your personal Microsoft account or your Microsoft work or school account when inserting a template into the email message that is being created.

Have full access to all files user can access

We use this permission to attach files from your OneDrive when you are inserting a template into the email message you are creating.

Sign users in

We use this permission to provide the sign-in with Microsoft features.

Maintain access to data you have given it access to

We use this permission to send the scheduled mail merge campaign messages even if you are logged out from your account and have switched off all the devices.

Send mail as you

We use this permission to send the mail merge campaign messages from your mailbox.

Send mail on behalf of others or yourself

We use this permission to send the mail merge campaign messages on behalf of the specified mailbox.

We do not use the content of your mailbox, OneDrive or SharePoint files other than the attachments you use in your mail merge campaign.

Note. You can find more information in Privacy Policy (https://www.ablebits.com/docs/outlook-shared-templates-privacy-policy/#annex-two).

Where we store the collected personal data

Your data in Shared Email Templates.
All your templates are stored in a cloud-based database hosted by Amazon Web Services. This is a protected storage inside an isolated private network. All data can only be accessed through the template sharing service, the core back-end service of Shared Email Templates.

When you create an encrypted team, you are the only person who knows the Team Password. Be sure to pass the password to your teammates in a safe way. In encrypted teams, all templates are encrypted with the SHA-256 symmetric algorithm before being saved to the cloud database.

Also, we store local copies of your templates (the local templates cache) in the following locations on your devices:

  • web browser local storage in case of the Shared Email Templates web app or the Shared Email Templates add-in running in Outlook on the web (Outlook Online)
  • Outlook cache in case of the Shared Email Templates add-in running in your desktop Outlook.

The local templates cache is isolated and not accessible by other browser extensions or Outlook add-ins. We store the local templates cache unencrypted because of the performance reasons. Otherwise we would have to decrypt templates each time you start Shared Email Templates, which would dramatically increase its startup time.

The local templates cache is refreshed with each change in templates, e.g. if your teammate creates a new template, the new template goes to the cache.

What data others collect, but we don't

We do not collect any payment information, such as bank account details, credit card information, and check information.

You might find that Microsoft Office telemetry is run together with the Shared Email Templates app and add-in. This is because we use Microsoft's office.js framework.

Who can access your data at our office

This clause refers to your personal data, i.e. all of personal data or personal information or personally identifiable information (as defined by applicable law).

We develop and test our products on specially created testing configurations, so access to your data is very limited and only a few people at our office have permissions.

Full access (provided on request) is given to a few of our core developers and only in case they need to figure out some complex technical thing.

Read-only access is provided to our senior system administrator to perform online monitoring and periodic maintenance of our servers and services.

Read-only access is also given to our customer support service and sales specialists. They need your data to assist you when you contact us with related questions.

Note. No one has access to your templates, passwords, and keys. So, please be prepared that our customer support service team may ask you to send them the HTML code of your template if they think the problem is in it. However, we will never ask for your password or Team Passwords.

How we control access to your data at our office

We make a lot of effort to keep your data safe. Firstly, we restrict physical access to our office and to our computers with door locking, access control systems, alarm system, and surveillance facilities. Secondly, we restrict access to our systems by using central management of system access, no guest accounts policy, password and authentication policies.

Also, we control access to data with the help of differentiated access rights, access rights defined according to duties, measures to prevent the use of automated data-processing systems by unauthorized persons.

To prevent unauthorized access, data alteration and disclosure, all our communication channels are encrypted using virtual private networks for remote access, transport and communication of data. All our sub-networks are joined into a wholly-owned private network. Finally, all our computers are protected with antivirus software and firewall systems.

How to erase your data

To remove your data, simply delete all the teams where you are the administrator, and then delete your account in the Profile section. To have all your communications with us removed from our systems, please contact our customer support service.

How you can make sure that everything above is true

You can see all the information that is sent to our services and storages with your own eyes with the help of the Fiddler tool or your browser console. Also, you can inspect our client-side source code directly in your web browser.